My Mundane Musings

Growing up I longed for the fast paced life of big city life and corporate America. Now I’m a stay at home mom of 4 in a small rural community! And I wouldn’t have it any other way! (At least for now).

Works for me Wednesday – baseball season… June 11, 2008

Filed under: life,works-for-me-wednesday — Rebekah Sanders @ 6:20 am

I guess I could post all about how meme’s and carnivals work for me after this week! If nothing else, they come in VERY handy when you commit to blogging 100 days in a row. But that’s not what this is about.

We are in the THICK of ball season. A very rainy ball season that is resulting in make-up games that only add to the madness of our already insane schedule. Which means that uniforms must be washed every night. Ball bags have taken up permanent residency in the back of our minivan. And we eat dinner on the go more than I’d like to admit.

Which has led to emptying my pocketbook into various ball park concession stands. I have FOUR kids. If I give them each only $1 and then give Chip $1 to spend at each game (I only add Chip into that mix because it’s so much easier to do multiples of 5) and average 5 games a week, that’s an easy $25 a week for JUNK!

So, I’ve started packing snacks. Because I can’t stand the thought of spending $1 for a candy bar that I really don’t want them to eat anyway. And I really can’t imagine spending $25 a week for candy! So, I’ve been on the lookout for healthy (or semi-healthy) snacks that we can bring along with us. Pretzels, Pirate Booty (which is GREAT – google it if you don’t know what it is), cheese crackers, and I’m seriously considering making Chip make up some popcorn to bring along since they can’t seem to get enough of it!

Ok – and a quick WFM shout to the maker of the DVR. I’m not sure how I ever watched TV without it. Especially during ball season! This week, we have games on 5 out of 7 days and church on Sunday. I’m really thinking that companies who don’t do product placement are going to have to find some new ways of advertising on television after this whole “digital signal” thing happens. More and more people will be switching to cable and satellite I think and with that comes free DVR type products and well, do peple actually still watch LIVE television? And if they aren’t watching live, I can almost certainly assure you that they are not watching commercials. I love the DVR! Because how else am I going to find something to watch at 6am? (That’s right Suzanne – the time stamp on this one is in real time. And I’ve been up for an hour!)

 

2 Responses to “Works for me Wednesday – baseball season…”

  1. Suzanne Says:

    And I sorta slept in…maybe we’re morphing into each other. Although I will not drink coffee (and I can bet you’ll never drink tea!)

  2. I ❤ DVR! I think it’s the world’s greatest invention (next to sliced bread and coffee!) LOL!


Leave a Reply

