My Mundane Musings

Growing up I longed for the fast paced life of big city life and corporate America. Now I’m a stay at home mom of 4 in a small rural community! And I wouldn’t have it any other way! (At least for now).

Tackle it Tuesday – Laundry, again… June 24, 2008

Filed under: coffee,family,fun,goals,home improvement,kids,life,marriage — Rebekah Sanders @ 8:02 am

I’ve officially decided. I hate doing laundry. I mean, unless I make everyone strip naked and run around that way, ALL of the laundry is never going to be clean. And don’t think that I haven’t thought about that whole naked thing. But I’m pretty sure that it’s probably illegal? At the least, it would be considered child abuse. So, my kids stay dressed for the most part. And I try not to hold a grudge against Adam & Eve for even making laundry necessary!

 


Does that picture look familiar? It should. It’s the same one that was there last week. Because I have had absolutely NO time. My older kids were at camp last week and I actually had to watch the little kids. Because they are sneaky at the ages of 6, 3, and 1. Do you have any idea how sneaky those little kids can be? Because I certainly do! And it all added up to me cleaning up mess after mess and leaving no time for laundry.

However – THIS week, we have family coming over on Sunday afternoon for lunch. Out of town family. And I’m guessing that they will want somewhere to sit while they are here. So, the laundry MUST be done. And it must be done TODAY because I’ve got a personal “tackle it” list for every day this week. And laundry is on there TWICE! Because if I do it all today, I’m still going to have to do it all again on Saturday.

So, when my brain snaps and I finally start speaking jibberish and drooling on my shirt, y’all make sure to remind my dear, sweet Chip (who will take care of me because we have a deal, oh yes we do) that it was LAUNDRY that finally pushed me over the edge!

I should probably go find myself some more coffee and get to it.

So, what are you tackling today?

 

13 Responses to “Tackle it Tuesday – Laundry, again…”

  1. Dawn Says:

    Hang in there and check this out it might (read should) change the way you see this chore…it has me!

    http://flourishingmother.blogspot.com/2008/06/textile-management.html

    Let me know what you think?

  2. I”m tackling an all day class today!

  3. Familiar? Yes…Laundry again–have you EVER seen the bottom of the basket? How about homeschooling in the nude? That should start some rumers.

    Good post.

    I had my boys tackle our plastics kitchen cabinet.

  4. happyathome Says:

    Laundry…the daily mundane task of washing, drying, folding and putting away. I try so hard to keep up with it because I hate having clothes everywhere! Not to mention I am trying t only do a load in the morning to conserve energy and hanging it out to dry on a line, which is weather permitting! I feel for you and have another cup of coffee, it’s on me!
    I am tackling my craft/knit area because I am a yarn junkie and to curb the addiction, I need to organize it!
    Nice blog! Stop by some time!
    http://lifeislikechampagne.blogspot.com/2008/06/tackle-it-tuesday_24.html

  5. Caroline Says:

    Sounds like you had a tiring week last week! I know about the sneakiness! My 20 month old loves to escape!!!!
    Caroline
    http://www.SmartyPantsMama.com
    Come enter this week’s giveaway!

  6. lol, Yes, that looks very familiar to me.

    I don’t know where all of it comes from. It seems like it multiplies when you wash it but when you go to find something to wear, then it is all gone.

    lol

    Good Luck!
    robin@heartofwisdom.com
    heartofwisdom.com/heartathome/

  7. Tricia Says:

    Laundry is a never ending mountain to climb at my house.

  8. tammy Says:

    Last night I finally put away the laundry that I folded last week. And now, there’s more to be done again.

    On my list today? Bake cookies to send up to Boy Scout camp and tidy up the living room. The IL’s are bringing #2 home tomorrow night so it has to look somewhat presentable.

    Did you know that there’s something in carpet fibers that makes toys multiply? Because I swear our legos are cloning themselves…how else would there be twice as many on my floor today as yesterday? Hmmm?

  9. There’s nothing like a deadline to help get a project done…that’s what it takes at my house most of the time!

  10. Karen Says:

    don’t let it get you down

  11. Nodins Nest Says:

    Laundry is always last on my list too, when were out of clean underwear!

  12. Linda Kasper Says:

    Laundry is one task I don’t like doing because to me it is never done. Good Luck on getting your house ready for your guest. That is probably my second least favorite task, getting house ready for guest.

  13. Krys Says:

    Um Bekah? Where did kid #5 (age 1) come from??? Just curious….


Leave a Reply

