My Mundane Musings

Growing up I longed for the fast paced life of big city life and corporate America. Now I’m a stay at home mom of 4 in a small rural community! And I wouldn’t have it any other way! (At least for now).

Why we choose organic… June 27, 2008

Filed under: family,healthy living,home improvement,kids,life — Rebekah Sanders @ 9:47 pm

For the last year or so, I’ve made the switch to organic cleaners for our house. The smells bother most of us because of asthma related issues.

However, with warmer temperatures FINALLY here, my kids have been in and out of the house more often. And a lot of times they are dripping wet as they run into the kitchen for a snack, or a drink of water (because they are forever banned from having cups in the yard), or just passing through to ask a question. And it’s wreaking havoc on my light colored kitchen floor. It’s not too bad on the hardwood, but the floor in the kitchen has been absolutely disgusting the past week. And since the car accident, I just can’t down on my hands and knees and clean it much anymore.

But, since we have company coming this weekend, I knew that cleaning the floor in the kitchen was a must. Because these are out of town company after all. And while I know they are coming to see us and not the floors, it’s been bred deep into me that when company comes, you clean the house.

And because it was so gross and my normal organic cleaners don’t clean quite as easily as the chemical based cleaners, I decided that for just this one time, I’d pick up some Mop ‘n Glo while we were at Target.

I was oh so very wrong, y’all! So very, very misguided in my thinking.

The smell didn’t bother me at first. I had just cut Chip’s hair in the kitchen and since I was already sweeping and because we may have the first wave of company tomorrow already, I figured I’d bite the bullet and just get it done. I did a quick squirt and went over the kitchen and then went back and did it all again. And it SHINES so nicely right now.

Unfortunately, it also sent Elijah and I running for our inhalers! Because the smell was so bad. So strong. So very full of chemicals.

And I’ll take breathing over a clean floor any day!

Or maybe I’ll have the best of both worlds and just switch to a different organic cleaner (mine has been discontinued by the company). Anyone have any suggestion?

 

2 Responses to “Why we choose organic…”

  1. Suzanne Says:

    I use dish soap on my kitchen floor. I don’t mop but get on my hands & knees and scrub it that way. I fill one bucket with hot soapy water and the other with just hot water. The first bucket is the washing one and the second is the rinsing one. I empty and refill the rinsing one as needed. The dish soap works well on the floor and is a gentle cleaner.

  2. tammy Says:

    if you have any Tea Tree Oil, you can add that to a dishsoap/water mixture & it makes for a very good cleaner. Heloise always suggested ammonia and/or vinegar added to the water also. But, I’m guessing the ammonia would be out of the question…


Leave a Reply

