My Mundane Musings

Growing up I longed for the fast paced life of big city life and corporate America. Now I’m a stay at home mom of 4 in a small rural community! And I wouldn’t have it any other way! (At least for now).

A great snack… July 2, 2008

Filed under: food — Rebekah Sanders @ 11:35 am

So, yesterday was a tumultuous day. I ended up eating less than 1200 calories when all was said and done. When I’m stressed or upset, I just can’t eat. And if I do eat? Well, it’s not pretty.  I want to binge on things that will make me feel worse. Ice cream being the biggest thing!

And oh how I’m missing my ice cream. I love it. Absolutely adore a good ice cream treat. My favorite is Ben & Jerry’s Vermonty Python – coffee ice cream with cookie crumb swirls and little chocolate cows! Excuse me for a moment while I dry the drool off the keyboard!

Anyway – I knew that if I didn’t figure out some sort of healthy alternative, I was NEVER going to make it through my month of healthy eating. Ice cream would be my downfall. I could eat it EVERY day and not miss a beat. Well, not until I was too big to actually walk to the refrigerator to get it. But isn’t that what kids are for?

Ok, I know, I have issues.

Anyway, yesterday, we bought grapes. And these grapes are AMAZING! The perfect amount of juiciness and the perfect bit of tartness. I took half of them and promptly put them in the freezer.

After my walk this morning, I wanted something cold. I wanted ice cream. I was seriously contemplating a popsicle. But then I decided I would try some frozen grapes!

Oh my word! DELICIOUS!!! They satisfied that craving for something cold and sweet. AND it was good for me!!!

 

3 Responses to “A great snack…”

  1. Suzanne Says:

    If you get too big to walk to the fridge you could always get yourself a HoverRound.
    *shivers at the thought*

  2. Krys Says:

    My next door neighbor has suggested that too about the grapes but I haven’t tried it. Did you used red or green? I love doing that with blueberries! I can’t wait until I can get to out to pick some and freeze a bunch to last me through the winter.

  3. Valerie Says:

    we love frozen grapes – they are a favorite snack here too. praying for you & your healthy eating


Leave a Reply

