My Mundane Musings

Growing up I longed for the fast paced life of big city life and corporate America. Now I’m a stay at home mom of 4 in a small rural community! And I wouldn’t have it any other way! (At least for now).

Works For Me Wednesday – 5 ingredients or less… July 2, 2008

Filed under: food,life,menu,works-for-me-wednesday — Rebekah Sanders @ 6:27 am

The thing about summer that plagues me the most is the fact that we just don’t eat much. I honestly think the kids and I could live on cold cereal and/or peanut butter sandwiches! Right now I’m not even missing our oven (it broke a little over a week ago – the stovetop still works).

One of our favorite summertime meals is Italian Beef in the crockpot. I love it because I can put it on first thing in the morning and forget about it. If we have a ball game or something, it’s waiting for us when we get home. Normally we have it with fresh garden veggies and potato salad the first night. And then finish it off the next day (or two if it’s a big roast) as sandwiches! YUM-O!!!

Rebekah’s Italian Beef
1 large BEEF roast (I so do not like pork roast – too much fat)
1 head of garlic – minced (or half a jar of the already minced stuff)
4-5 pepperocinni
1/2 cup of water

Throw it all in the crockpot on low for 10 hours (or until it’s falling apart) and then pull apart. I pull it apart and then leave it in the juices in the crockpot so it’s super moist.

And now I’m off to add this to my menu for next week!

What’s your favorite 5 item or less recipe?

 

 

2 Responses to “Works For Me Wednesday – 5 ingredients or less…”

  1. Slacker Mom Says:

    I’m always on the look out for something new to try in the crock pot. Thanks!

  2. SufficientGrace Says:

    My favorite recipe like that is Baked Crockpot Chicken. You get a whole fryer chicken, rub whatever seasonings you want all over it (I typically use fajita seasoning.) Put three wads of tinfoil in the bottom of the pot to keep the chicken up out of the liquid, put it on top of the foil balls, and turn the crockpot on all day. Comes out like a yummy rotissere type without any work! 🙂


Leave a Reply

