My Mundane Musings

Growing up I longed for the fast paced life of big city life and corporate America. Now I’m a stay at home mom of 4 in a small rural community! And I wouldn’t have it any other way! (At least for now).

Menu Plan Monday – July 14th (no range required recipes)… July 14, 2008

Filed under: food,healthy living,life,menu — Rebekah Sanders @ 8:00 am

So, this week poses some interesting challenges. I don’t have a stove or an oven. At least for now. And I’m guessing it’s better to plan like I don’t because I have plenty of items that I can throw in the oven if somehow I end up with one. Chip reminded me that we have a behemoth of a gas stove at the church, but unless he wants to be the one to go use it, well, I don’t have a stove or oven this week!

So it’s been a stretching kind of day as I’ve worked to prepare my menu for this week. It wouldn’t be such a problem, but I’m a good cook. Because of that, we’re a bunch of food snobs around here. Because right now I’m dreaming of foods like eggplant parmesan, baked ravioli, gumbo, sweet & sour chicken, lasagna, etc…  All of those things it’s kind of hard to make without a working range. This week could make for some interesting dinners.

Monday – Steak & Shake

Tuesday – Stuffed Hamburgers

Wednesday – Crockpot Pizza (I’m going to have Chip grill extra hamburgers on Monday so I can crumble them for this dish – not two excited about having it two weeks in a row, but the kids are.)

Thursday – Orange Chicken Skewers with Sesame Honey Mustard Dipping Sauce

Friday – Zesty Slow Cooker Chicken Barbecue a la my friend Karen!

Saturday – Chipotle Spiced Shrimp

Sunday – Fellowship dinner (I think I’m going to bring Muffuleta since you don’t have to cook it)

So, what’s your favorite no-cook/slow-cook/grill meal?

 

5 Responses to “Menu Plan Monday – July 14th (no range required recipes)…”

  1. Krys Says:

    Here’s Derek’s Aunt Sandy’s go-to crock-pot meal. She always serves it when we are out there to visit.

    Italian Beef w/ rolls

    Chuck roast
    fennel seed
    ground oregano (I couldn’t find any at my store so I just used my chopped to pulverize whole leaves)
    thyme
    beef broth- 1 cup

    Cook Chuck roast in crock pot on low for 12 hours with garlic (the more the better in my opinion!). Pull apart and separate broth and fat. Add fennel, ground oregano and thyme to taste and 1 cup of beef broth. Simmer on stove for one hour on low (or bring to boil in crock pot on high- then reduce to low in crock pot).

    The best way to make this is overnight. It’s the best smell to wake up to in the morning!

  2. Cindy Says:

    Hey Bekah,
    you have to see this gals blog (I left a link on the Cabin) but came here too..she is cooking EVERYTHING in her crockpot from salmon to tapioca pudding…

    check her out..
    http://crockpot365.blogspot.com/

  3. Cindy Says:

    hey girly you have to see this blog she is cooking everything in her crockpot from salmon to tapioca pudding…

    http://crockpot365.blogspot.com/

  4. Cindy Says:

    I hope this works..I have tried leaving comments earlier…

    saw this and thought of you…she has awesome recipes for crockpot cooking…

    http://www.365crockpot.blogspot.com

    ~C~

  5. Cindy Says:

    oops I am sorry…I got that backwards..

    http://www.crockpot365.blogspot.com
    *blushes*


Leave a Reply

