My Mundane Musings

Growing up I longed for the fast paced life of big city life and corporate America. Now I’m a stay at home mom of 4 in a small rural community! And I wouldn’t have it any other way! (At least for now).

Tackle It Tuesday – The Home Office edition… July 15, 2008

Filed under: goals,home improvement,life,meme,Tackle It Tuesday — Rebekah Sanders @ 9:43 am

So, we’ve got a couple weeks off for the summer and we’ve decided we’re going to do more of a stay-cation and do some work around the house. Not my idea of vacation, but it needs to be done.

Today, I’m tackling the home office. Our office is a mess. The closet is full to the brim with empty boxes, out-dated homeschooling books and Little People. The futon is PILED with needing to be folded laundry. Clothes my kids obviously don’t need because those same clothes haven’t been touched in two weeks. And my desk? The one with the broken computer? Well, the piles are winning since we haven’t used the desk in almost 2 months. Which means I haven’t had to look at the mess, so it hasn’t bothered me enough to put it all away. Did I mention that unless the kids are actually playing in there, the door stays closed?

Because we all know that if you can’t see a mess, there really must not be a mess, right?

RIGHT?!?

Yeah, I’m past the point of self-denial. And my list keeps growing everytime I look into the room.

  • Fold the laundry
  • Clean out the closet
    • Decide which empty boxes really must be kept.
    • Get rid of the rest of them
    • List all of the unused/out-dated homeschooling stuff online
    • List all the tchokes (pronounced choch-keys) on either freecycle or craigslist. Ever realize those tchokes include the word choke? My closet it simply choked with them!
  • Go through my paperback books. List them on paperbackswap.com and request some new ones.
  • Clean off the desk
    • Sort papers
    • File papers that need to be kept
    • Sort computer games. List unwanted ones on craigslist or freecycle
  • Sand the patched hole in the wall.
  • Fill other small holes that have appeared. You’ve got to love 80 year old plaster walls!
  • Box up borrowed homeschooling resources and give them back to Tammy.
  • Box up last years school work. Yes, I *know* school ended 2 months ago.

And I’m really hoping that I can convince Chip to help me work on all of it later this afternoon. Which will probably be the hardest thing on the list to tackle!

So, what are you tackling today?

Tackle It Tuesday Meme

 

7 Responses to “Tackle It Tuesday – The Home Office edition…”

  1. Angela Says:

    It’s always better to tackle when you’ve got help. Sometimes. Unless your husband is like mine and makes the project more complicated. 🙂 Good luck with your tackle today!

  2. Lisa K Says:

    Great Tackle! Hope you get through it all!!!

  3. Suzanne Says:

    We went to Wal-Mart. Now we’re getting ready to go see the Kit (American Girl) movie. Then more groceries at Dierbergs, stop at the vets and stop at the natural food store before heading home.

  4. Amydeanne Says:

    I hope Chip helps you! I usually kick everyone outside when I try and clean!

  5. I tackled almost having a nervous breakdown trying to find Damaris’ baby book!

  6. happyathome Says:

    Nice tip with the paperbackswap.com, new to me! I usually give my books to my local library.
    Stop by my blog, I am tackling an outhouse, not a bthroom but an outhouse!
    http://www.lifeislikechampagneblog.com/

  7. That’s quite a list! Good luck!


Leave a Reply

