My Mundane Musings

Growing up I longed for the fast paced life of big city life and corporate America. Now I’m a stay at home mom of 4 in a small rural community! And I wouldn’t have it any other way! (At least for now).

Works For Me Wednesday – Couch covers… July 16, 2008

Filed under: family,home improvement,kids,life,meme,pets,works-for-me-wednesday — Rebekah Sanders @ 7:58 am

Have y’all gone out anytime recently to price a slip cover for a couch? Sofa? Davenport? Whatever you want to call it? Even the “cheap” ones (imagine the air quotes there) are $35 for a LOVESEAT! And when you get into the specialized ones like we need for our sofa – because it has two bottom cushions and three across the back – well, you’re looking upwards of the $200 range.

Did I mention that I need couch covers because my couch is a disaster because we have FOUR kids? So, selling me $300 worth of slip covers for a set that we only paid $600 (because oh the deal we got on that one!) just isn’t going to happen.

But I was so absolutely sick of looking at the furniture in my living room. It was such a mess. And we are holding out to be past the whole toddler spills/peeing-in-his-sleep thing to be done before we even consider getting new living room furniture.

So, I set out on a mission. A mission to find something that I could cover my couch/love seat with. Something that would coordinate with the rest of the fabric in my living room. Something durable that would hold up against 4 kids, 2 dogs, a cat and whatever other chaos gets added into our home on a daily basis.

And it all has to be machine washable! Which those slipcovers I mentioned before are not!

So, I started to look at material. Do y’all have any idea how much fabric costs these days? Because oh my word! I apparently saw one too many episodes of Trading Spaces where they fail to mention that a thrifty family of 6 cannot afford the beautiful fabrics that hold up so well when the kids are jumping from one couch to the other. Oh! And I don’t sew. At all. At least not on a sewing machine. My sewing machine is currently a step stool in my room that Seth uses to reach the light switch.

I had almost given up home of ever having a slip-covered couch.

Until one day, while walking through Target, I had an idea. As I stood there pleading with my t-shirt clad clan to please not honk every bike horn in the store and to please put that movie back, I had a wonderful, glorious idea. An idea, that if it worked, was going to solve my problem.

Jersey sheets! Because isn’t half of putting on a slip cover just pushing the fabric into the cracks anyway. And even if a set of sheets cost me $50, I’d have enough for not just one couch, but the loveseat too.

So, I took a quick left with a crazed look in my eye. My husband was pretty dazed as I explained my genius plan. He wasn’t convinced that it would work. He tried to talk me out of it.

Until we found a set of sage green jersey sheets on clearance for $15! Because there isn’t a crazy scheme he won’t let me try if it costs less than $20.

Not only did it work, but it worked WONDERFULLY! Flawlessly! The corners from the fitted sheet stretched perfectly around the corners. And all the way up and over the back cushions – with plenty of fabric left over to tuck into the cushions! And the one for the loveseat has a bit too much fabric, but who cares.

And those pillow cases? Oh the joy they’ve brought my kids! They are the big king size pillow cases – way too big for any of our pillows. But perfect for a sleeping bag for an indoor fort on a rainy day. Great for packing away an unruly sleeping bag for an overnight to Grandma’s. Great for packing a bag to run away (oh wait – that was me, not the kids! ROFL).

What’s your favorite household tip? What works for you?

 

5 Responses to “Works For Me Wednesday – Couch covers…”

  1. Marlene Says:

    Great idea. I love the way jersey sheets feel too.

  2. SufficientGrace Says:

    That’s awesome!! Now you’ll have to update us and let us know if they stay in place… that was always my problem with slipcovers of any sort…. 😉

  3. Pepper Says:

    We are big Jersey sheet fans anyways but this is a great idea.

  4. Mamacita Says:

    I have to admit I never thought of that. You should post pictures!

  5. Mindi Says:

    great idea – i’ll have to try it!!


Leave a Reply

