My Mundane Musings

Growing up I longed for the fast paced life of big city life and corporate America. Now I’m a stay at home mom of 4 in a small rural community! And I wouldn’t have it any other way! (At least for now).

Spicy shrimp recipe… July 19, 2008

Filed under: family,food,healthy living,menu,recipes — Rebekah Sanders @ 7:10 pm

Oh my goodness! We just had shrimp for dinner and I *loved* it! I had a recipe that I was going to make, but couldn’t find everything it called for, so I improvised! Something I’m actually pretty good at. This is the recipe that I ended up with.

What you’ll need:

  • Shrimp – peeled, deveined (size doesn’t matter – I used the little cheap ones)
  • 1 small can of chipotle peppers in adobo sauce (by the Mexican food in most grocers)
  • 1 tsp olive oil
  • 1 tsp minced garlic
  • 1/2 tsp of chopped oregano

I mixed everything but the shrimp together really well in a plastic ziploc bag. Then I rinsed and patted dry the shrimp and put them in the bag. Let marinade for an hour. Put on skewers and grill for 4-5 minutes on each side. (Remember if you use wooden skewers they have to soak for 30 minutes before putting them on the girl – or you could just buy some metal ones).

These were SPICY! My kids who like spicy foods ate them with some ranch dressing to dip them in to cut the spice. I served them with a pasta salad (because we are still range-less until at least tomorrow).
If you make these – stop buy and let me know what you think. They are definitely on my list of things that I’ll make again!
As Seth would say – “Winner, winner, chicken dinner!”
 

One Response to “Spicy shrimp recipe…”

  1. joejhorn Says:

    Cool recipe, I love the idea of the chipotle. Did you use the whole can? I just recently posted a recipe for Caramel and Ginger Shrimp that I adapted from “The Spended Table” cookbook and posted it on my blog @ http://cookingquest.wordpress.com if you would like to come take a look. I love feedback and other cook’s opinions for sure.

    Thanks and have a great one!

    Joe


Leave a Reply

