My Mundane Musings

Growing up I longed for the fast paced life of big city life and corporate America. Now I’m a stay at home mom of 4 in a small rural community! And I wouldn’t have it any other way! (At least for now).

Menu Plan Monday – July 28th… July 28, 2008

Filed under: family,food,fun,healthy living,kids,life,menu — Rebekah Sanders @ 7:48 am

Before I get to the menu, I have a question…

Do your kids snack all the time? 

My kids never whine or complain about wanting a snack. Ok, maybe occasionally, but it’s not the norm. However, Chip’s nephew was here for a month and even 15 minutes after he’d eaten dinner he’d be asking for a snack or saying, “I’m hungry!” He’s 6.

And it’s the same thing with the 8yo that I babysit for during the summer. She eats at home before she comes and then usually eats again when my kids do. Then by 11am she’s asking for a snack. We eat at noon and by 2ish, she’s complaining about wanting more to eat.

And neither of them just wanted a “snack” – they wanted a whole meal it seems! When I think snack, I think a handful of pretzels, some chex mix or dry cereal, some grapes, an apple. That kind of thing. But they want a sandwich AND one of those things.

Other friends parents have commented on the fact that my kids don’t beg for snacks at someone else’s house (when did people stop teaching their kids basic manners?).

So, what’s the norm when it comes to snacks in your house? Do they get a snack every day? And what is it?

Monday – Zesty Crockpot Chicken BBQ – yes, I know this is the third week in a row this has been on my menu. No, we have not actually eaten it yet. Tonight’s the night though!

Tuesday – Grilled Turkey Pizza Burgers (I mix 2 lbs of ground turkey, 1 egg, Italian bread crumbs and mash them all together and shape into burgers. Then we top them with pizza sauce and mozzarella cheese).

Wednesday – Spicy Orange Chicken over rice (this isn’t my original recipe that I use, but it’s close. I do not use raisins and I make my own “chunk chicken” since I see no reason to use already processed chicken when I can make it fresh without the preservatives)

Thursday – Baked Ravioli with garlic bread (oh, I can’t wait!)

Friday – ??? I’m unsure what time we’re leaving yet on Friday. It’s possible we could leave before dinner. I’m thinking I’ll make chicken wraps and we can eat in the van if we have to.

Saturday – VACATION!!! I’m thinking PF Changs sounds delightful!

Sunday –  VACATION!!! Anyone have any great recommendations for the St. Louis area?

 

I’m sure I’ll be heading over to Orgjunkie.com before the end of the day to see what other people are cooking up. What’s on your menu for this week?


 

6 Responses to “Menu Plan Monday – July 28th…”

  1. Damaris eats an afternoon snack when she goes to Friendship House, but here at home, it’s rare that she asks for a snack. I wish I was that way. I get hungry for a snack mid-afternoon and I have to be careful or I’ll just go binge in the kitchen.

  2. Emily Says:

    Yes! In St. Louis, go to Mokabe’s. http://www.mokabes.com/location.htm kind of a coffee house, but with great vegetarian (and not-vegetarian) sandwiches on good bread and great homemade fries, smoothies, shakes, etc. Funky, offbeat, many tattoos, and a really nice patio covered in plants.

  3. Jodi Says:

    Can I have the recipe for Baked ravioli? That sounds like a dish my kids would eat happily.

    Have fun on vacation!

  4. Crystal Says:

    My boys ask for snacks occasionally … when they’ve had breakfast super early and we’re home all morning. They are given snacks at church or MOPS when they are there all morning, but if we’re running an errand … they usually go w/o. Sometimes when Sam (4.5) wakes from his nap (3,4pm) or doesnt nap, he’ll ask for one. They only ask for late night snacks when they’ve been up past their bedtime. I’m trying really hard to encourage them to eat at meals. I’m not sure they get it that when they don’t eat a lot at dinner, then they’ll be hungry later. As for asking for snacks when they’re “company”, I know they do that with their grandmother who offers/encourages snacks frequently, so I figure we’re safe for now on the manners side of things.

  5. Suzanne Says:

    You MUST take the kids to the City Museum!
    You can stop in at the local Holiday Inn (here) and get travel brochures. Some of them have coupons in them!

  6. Karen Says:

    My kids have a snack here and there but usually something small, you know cheese and crackers, pudding, etc. However, they eat breakfast at home and then again at their pre-school. So basically have 2 breakfasts, especially Christina. Bryce however is eating us out of house and home lately. Hope football practice went ok.


Leave a Reply

