My Mundane Musings

Growing up I longed for the fast paced life of big city life and corporate America. Now I’m a stay at home mom of 4 in a small rural community! And I wouldn’t have it any other way! (At least for now).

Walk with me… July 30, 2008

Filed under: family,goals,healthy living,kids,life — Rebekah Sanders @ 4:49 pm

I’m going to take 1,000,000 steps in the next three months! That’s right, one MILLION steps! In THREE months! That’s about 11,000 steps a day. About 1500 LESS than I need to meet the “walk to lose weight” goal of 12,500 steps a day.

Oh my word – I’m throwing a lot of numbers at y’all there, aren’t I?

I finally found a pedometer that I’m not only happy to have, but THRILLED to have. I’ve gone through 4 or 5 before now. Most of them would register steps that I didn’t take. Every time I went over a bump while sitting in the car, every time I stood up or sat down, and have mercy if I actually dropped it. Which I’ve been known to do. And NONE of them was designed to be carried in my pocket.

Until I found the one I have now. It’s the Omron HJ-112 and it’s WONDERFUL! I only logs actual steps that I take. I know this because I dropped it today and it didn’t register ANY of the bumping around as it skipped across the kitchen floor. I can wear it on a lanyard around my neck, put in my purse or my pocket, or clip it on my belt. But since I don’t wear a belt, ever, and I don’t carry my purse everywhere I go every second of every day, and I’m not known to wear a lanyard, I just stick it in my pocket.

Before breakfast, I’d already registered 2,000 steps! I’m trying my hand at keeping track of all my steps on WalkerTracker.com so that I can actually know when I’m meeting my goal and when I’m not. I think 10,000 steps averages out to about 5 miles a day. I always KNEW that I got a bunch of exercise chasing 4 kiddos around all day. Now I’ll know exactly how much I walk in an average day.

How much do you walk?

 

2 Responses to “Walk with me…”

  1. Karen Says:

    I did the walk around Illinois program this summer and got in quite a few steps. I got in a lot of steps when I had to walk out in the plant and back around. I seemed to get a lot of steps in just by playing and walking around town with the kids. Its amazing how many steps you can get without really trying too hard.

  2. Krys Says:

    I have a pedometer and where it from the moment I get dressed to the time I get home. I usually register about 12,000-15,000 steps a day- depending on how busy we’ve been and how many shifts I’ve had on our Mobile Reference team. And if we’ve managed to take our 1/2 hour lunch walk.

    I can’t wait until it gets cool again because Derek was nice enough to buy me a new mp3 player (first a laptop and now an mp3 player- is he making up for all the time he spends on-line? 😉 ) that I’ve already loaded over 500 songs onto and I like to take the long walk around our neighborhood which has mapped out to be 3.5 miles (which ironically is also the distance from home to work but he still refuses to walk to work). Go figure!


Leave a Reply

