My Mundane Musings

Growing up I longed for the fast paced life of big city life and corporate America. Now I’m a stay at home mom of 4 in a small rural community! And I wouldn’t have it any other way! (At least for now).

Well, I did it… July 31, 2008

Filed under: life — Rebekah Sanders @ 9:13 pm

I’d say we, but really Chip had little to do with it. I needed Chip’s mom to stop at Target and pick up some cranberry juice, so I had her pick up a TracFone for Elijah. He’s 11. And I just bought him his first cell phone. I think I was 30 before I got mine!

There has been much discussion in the circles we “run” in over the cell phone thing. One by one, we’ve watched as our kids friends have gotten cell phones in the past year. We live in a small enough town that kids are able to go and ride their bikes around town to friends houses (although I’m suddenly wondering if maybe some of the problems we’ve had in town haven’t come from parents trusting their kids a little too much because “they have phones”) and it’s an easy way to keep track of them.

Anyway, we had been contemplating it for a while. We were seriously thinking we’d get him one once football started since he would be mostly responsible for getting himself to and from practices from time to time. Like last night for example. Chip was at church (yes, I know he’s supposed to have the week off) and Elijah was at practice. I was at home with the rest of the kids. Chip’s mom was here but I didn’t know if Elijah needed a ride or not. He didn’t, but if he had a phone I could have called and asked.

And tomorrow we’re leaving for St. Louis. Without Elijah. He has football practice on Friday, pictures on Saturday and then practice on Monday & Tuesday. We’re leaving him with Chip’s parents. All will be fine until Tuesday when Chip’s dad will drop him off on his way to work at 2:30pm. And then he’ll have to get himself to practice. And he’ll be here alone. It’s good for him to have the responsibility. It’s good for him to have a phone too!

So, that’s the story of how my 11yo got his first phone. Nothing monumental, but still needed to be jotted down somewhere.

How old were your kids when they got their first phone? How old were you?

 

2 Responses to “Well, I did it…”

  1. I got my first cell phone at around 18 or 19. Russ & I were traveling quite a distance to a church he was serving at and it was better to have a phone in case something happened on the road.

    Damaris is 8 and has a phone already. Several reasons including that it was cheaper to add a phone to our plan rather than having a home phone for when she was home alone and needed to call us. No one has the number except us and my mom & sister in case of an emergency. She is only allowed to call Russ or I and no one is allowed to use the phone except here. Text messaging and internet are blocked on her phone so we don’t have to worry about that. It’s working for us.

  2. tammy Says:

    Nick just turned 13 in July and technically he has one. That’s to say, we have an extra phone available and Nick gets to use it. He can’t take it with him (unless we ok it before) and we limit the texting. We did get an 800-message plan put on the phone last month, but don’t tell him. 😉

    I had been against it for a while since we live in a small town as well, but it is nice that he doesnt tie up the house line and the long distance calls (which is just about everywhere since we live in the sticks) are free.


Leave a Reply

