My Mundane Musings

Growing up I longed for the fast paced life of big city life and corporate America. Now I’m a stay at home mom of 4 in a small rural community! And I wouldn’t have it any other way! (At least for now).

Perspective… August 7, 2008

Filed under: life — Rebekah Sanders @ 8:28 pm

My friend, Setsu, is traveling a hard road. This past Tuesday, her husband died from a rather short battle with cancer. She’s in Japan and making plans to move home to Canada and my heart just aches that I can’t be there for her. It makes all of the things that I’ve whined about lately seem very, very meaningless.

It’s been 2 years since a doctor walked into Chip’s hospital room and said, “You have a mass in your chest and we think it’s probably cancer.” I can still remember my heart slamming up into my throat and then bottoming out just as quickly in the pit of my stomach. The reality that I *might* lose my husband was enough to send my world spinning. And even with that glimpse, I still can’t imagine what Sue must be going through. My heart aches for my friend.

There are things in this world that I just don’t get. Hideki was a great man. A doctor of dentistry who worked to help other people. A loving father. A devoted husband. A man who loved his family and loved life. And he’s gone at way too young an age. It just doesn’t make sense to me and leaves me asking God, “WHY?!”

But I know that God is loving and good. That even when things seem dark, He still loves. And I know that God is with my friend when I can’t be because He loves her even more than I possibly can. I’m praying for my friend, Sue and her three kiddos tonight. And holding my own husband and kids just a little bit tighter.

 

Leave a Reply

