My Mundane Musings

Growing up I longed for the fast paced life of big city life and corporate America. Now I’m a stay at home mom of 4 in a small rural community! And I wouldn’t have it any other way! (At least for now).

Wild Goose Giveaway… August 19, 2008

Filed under: blog,books,church,friends,fun,internet — Rebekah Sanders @ 9:43 am

*Giveaway info at the end*

I’ve had the opportunity to read Wild Goose Chase by Mark Batterson already. It releases today via Amazon and all those other bookstores out there that I hear people use.

By the end of the first chapter, I was completely hooked. It’s a perfect book for those who feel like they are on a wild goose chase as they try and figure out this crazy ride called life and what God’s plans for them is. Because lately, I’ve been doing a lot of soul searching. A lot of wondering what comes next and how I get to that point. Maybe another name for this book could have been “Like a Chicken With My Head Cut Off.”  But the reminder to pursue God through it all is such great truth and explained clearly in this book. Especially when people around you are telling you that you’re crazy. It’s a reminder to live out your faith in day to day life as you take risks and adventures along the way.

Here’s the summary from the back of the book – 

Most of us have no idea where we’re going most of the time. Perfect. 

“Celtic Christians had a name for the Holy Spirit–An Geadh-Glas, or ‘the Wild Goose.’ The name hints at mystery. Much like a wild goose, the Spirit of God cannot be tracked or tamed. An element of danger, an air of unpredictability surround Him. And while the name may sound a little sacrilegious, I cannot think of a better description of what it’s like to follow the Spirit through life. I think the Celtic Christians were on to something….

Most of us will have no idea where we are going most of the time. And I know that is unsettling. But circumstantial uncertainty also goes by another name: Adventure.” –from the introduction.

Mark Batterson may be one of the best communicators I’ve ever heard. He is able to paint a picture that is memorable and has so many one-liners that I’ve lost count. He inspires me as we continue this crazy journey in ministry and as he reaches out to those he pastors at National Community Church on Capitol Hill. AND he dared to dream that a church could open a coffeehouse on the Hill! And saw that through to what is now the largest – and one of those most popular – coffeehouses!

I’ve got a free copy of Wild Goose Chase to give away to one of y’all! No strings attached. Just leave a comment below. If you twitter or blog about this giveaway on your own site, come back and leave a second comment and you’ll get two entries! I’m picking the winner at 11pm CST on Sunday night so the book can go out first thing on Monday morning.

So, go leave me a comment!

 

19 Responses to “Wild Goose Giveaway…”

  1. Well, you know about my issue right now b/c of the e-mail I sent. I just need God’s guidance as to whether He is closing this one door and if so, which other door I should pursue. I know He desires for me to train as a chaplain, but where?

  2. Love your blog (linked from samantha.) you are one rockin’ mom and doing a great job! i’m amazed at your cooking creativity and the amazing fact that you attempt to cook a meal every day. (Not to mention the week you didn’t have an oven) let’s just say I wish I had a real wild goose I could chase around all day – it would be a great excuse for why my life feels so crazy. and you know what? I wouldn’t even mind the poop. ok, maybe.

  3. beth Says:

    Hey!

    This is so funny because I read your blog and Steven’s blog on a reader. Both of you posted about the same thing on the same day!

    http://www.stevencole.org

  4. Suzanne Says:

    *waves*
    Yeah…enter me simply because I need more books!

  5. kamewh Says:

    Sounds like a great book!

  6. SufficientGrace Says:

    Comment! 🙂 Sounds like an interesting one! (BTW, What’s “Monkey Munch”? I could always use more recipes for Isaiah, he looooooves to cook!) 😀

  7. murphy24p Says:

    I’d love a copy of that book! Thank you for your generousity!

  8. Marilynn Says:

    This books sounds familiar for some reason. It sounds like one that would be a good read for me…..I need to take more risks and find more adventures.

  9. phil Says:

    found your website through your suggestion of this book to @tspencer on twitter and now I’m curious about the book so I would love read it so please enter me

  10. Toss my name in the hat! I’d love a free copy.
    Travis spencer.
    (Do I get added entries for referrals?!?) j/k

  11. I’m in.
    referral from @tspencer

    i also blogged about it here evancourtney.com

  12. Chris Says:

    Let’s make me a winner again!

  13. Mark Heimburger Says:

    I would love to get a copy!

  14. TeriRN Says:

    I am so looking forward to getting Wild Goose Chase. I have loved the snippets Mark posted each day this past week up to the books release. Looks like it will be an all time top seller.

  15. i hope this ain’t like chasing a real goose! 😉

  16. Well the only blog giveaway I’ve ever won was a meat thermometer, so I would love to win something I could be excited about winning. lol!

  17. […] the rest of y’all who were looking to win a copy of Mark Batterson’s Wild Goose Chase, you can go pick your copy up on Amazon. […]


Leave a Reply

