My Mundane Musings

Growing up I longed for the fast paced life of big city life and corporate America. Now I’m a stay at home mom of 4 in a small rural community! And I wouldn’t have it any other way! (At least for now).

Monkey Munch… August 20, 2008

Filed under: family,food,fun,kids,life,recipes — Rebekah Sanders @ 8:53 pm

I made monkey munch last night for the kids and it was gone by this afternoon after snack time. I was going to make more tonight after sending them all upstairs. Even had Chip’s mom stop and get some more cereal for me on her way home from work. All was well until I went into the kitchen to find that I only had 1/2 cup of chocolate chips left. I had checked around 4pm to make sure I had enough before asking Chip’s mom to get more cereal, so I thought I might be loosing my mind. Until Chip walked in the kitchen and I told him I what I was doing (or not doing) and he gave me a goofy grin. Yep, he ate my chocolate chips this afternoon. He’ll be picking some more up tomorrow after his doctors appointment.

Now, for those of you wondering what Monkey Munch is…

I’ve heard it called by many names – puppy chow, people chow, monkey munch, gorilla grub. We call it monkey munch. I’ve had it several times in my life, but never made it until they were talking about it recently on an episode of Jon & Kate Plus 8 (it’s the episode where the boys go golfing for those of you who watch – Seth makes me watch that episode over and over and over…)

Monkey Munch
9 cups Chex cereal
1 cup chocolate chips
1/2 cup creamy peanut butter
1/4 cup butter/margarine
1 teaspoon vanilla
1 1/2 cups powdered sugar

Microwave chocolate chips, peanut butter and butter for 1 minute. Stir. Remain heating until melted together with no lumps. Stir in vanilla. Pour over cereal. Pour half of powdered sugar into the bottom of a 1 gallon freezer bag. Pour in cereal mixture and top with remaining powdered sugar. Shake gently until sugar has coated the cereal. Spread on parchment lined cookie sheet until cool. Enjoy!

OH! And if you’re going to let your kids help you – remember that sugar is EXTREMELY hot after placed in the microwave! Let them help you measure things out as you get everything ready. Let them help shake the bag after it’s started cooling off a bit. But be careful if you let them help once the heated sugar/butter mixture is poured on the cereal!

 

2 Responses to “Monkey Munch…”

  1. tammy Says:

    I love this too Rebekah. We call it Puppy Chow but I like the name “Monkey Munch” better!!

  2. macie Says:

    omg! im twelve and i love john and kate plus eight and i LOVE monkey munch im john and kates #1 fan i can name all of thier kids hanna,leah,colin,jole,alexes,and aden they are so cool i realy want to email them but i dont know thier email address if you know it please email me at rusandbec@cebridge.net PLEASE!PLEASE!PLEASE!=) . . LOVE, MACIE


Leave a Reply

