My Mundane Musings

Growing up I longed for the fast paced life of big city life and corporate America. Now I’m a stay at home mom of 4 in a small rural community! And I wouldn’t have it any other way! (At least for now).

I should have taken pictures… August 26, 2008

Filed under: books,family,fun,home improvement,kids,life,Tackle It Tuesday — Rebekah Sanders @ 5:28 pm

I’m cleaning and rearranging. The first day of school WORE ME OUT!!!  Kait’s computer was set up in the dining room. Elijah’s computer in the office. Noah’s “desk” of choice is the floor in the living room. I spent the entire first day of school running from one room to the next. I seriously ranked up 5000 steps on my pedometer JUST DURING SCHOOL!!! I’m pretty sure that’s like 2.5 miles or something.

Today wasn’t quite as bad as Elijah doesn’t have an official curriculum yet so he was doing “life skills” types of things like dishes and cleaning his room. But Noah was doing some work on the computer in the office and Kait was still in the dining room and it was all just too chaotic for me.

Especially the bellowing that coursed through the house. At one point I’m pretty sure I threw my hands up in the air and screamed, “I’M JUST ONE PERSON!!!”

If you think *parenting* 4 kids is busy, try homeschooling 4 all at different age and grade levels. Oh. my. weary. word.

So, today after school, I set to work. My plan is to move Kait’s computer into the office. Which means getting the extra desk out of her bedroom and into the office. But in order to do that, I had to make a space for said desk. Amongst the myriad of other pieces of really big furniture – computer desk, two huge bookcases, treadmill (which I fixed in the process), and a HUGE wood futon (this is *not* one of those cheap, dorm room futons).

And I realized, there was no possible way it was all going to fit.

So rearranging one room became rearranging two. Which is my Seth’s most favorite thing in the world.

“OH! We’re decorating!” he exclaimed while clapping his hands with his eyes sparkling. His plans were much grander than my own, but he was happy to settle for my way when he realized he’s not big enough or strong enough to move furniture by himself.

We moved the futon in front of  the big picture window. We moved the treadmill over where the futon was. And the bookcase that was in the way of where I wanted to put the desk, moved to the dining room.

So, the bookcase moved into the dining room to where the cedar chest was. The cedar chest moved across the room. And the rocking horse (I should post a picture of our rocking horse – it’s wonderful. Chip’s dad had it built for Elijah. But that’s another story for another time) over in front of the double windows in the dining room.

The desk is still upstairs in Kait’s room at this point. I do ok moving furniture up the stairs. Not so much coming down. So the computer is sitting on the Little Tykes table in the middle of my doorway between the living room and dining room. I see no point in moving it any farther until I can move it onto the desk.

Now I’ve got to get myself off of the computer and go pick up the little piles of stuff that managed to get underneath all of the stuff that I moved. How does that all migrate underneath there anyway? And I assume there must be some great stuff because I keep hearing choruses of “I’ve been looking for that!” ring from the office.

Oh! And we are *so* going out for dinner tonight!
Tackle It Tuesday Meme

 

4 Responses to “I should have taken pictures…”

  1. Moose Says:

    “Oh! And we are *so* going out for dinner tonight!” *chuckle*

    seriously, sounds like you deserve it. The best part of moving stuff around is finding all those things you’ve been looking for.

  2. BarbaraLee Says:

    It amazes me too how things get in to places we least except. Like bread crumbs in the knife drawer.

  3. Audra Krell Says:

    Oh goodness, I don’t want to walk 2.5 miles in your shoes! Keep up the good work!

  4. Crystal Says:

    thanks for praying for us this weekend. it seems that our sp will be the first to evacuate (he’s pretty driven by fear in general), so it’s been a challenge already as the church prepares for the weekend. we won’t know until friday at the earliest what to expect. thanks again for praying.


Leave a Reply

