My Mundane Musings

Growing up I longed for the fast paced life of big city life and corporate America. Now I’m a stay at home mom of 4 in a small rural community! And I wouldn’t have it any other way! (At least for now).

Rain, rain, go away… September 4, 2008

Filed under: family,food,kids,weather — Rebekah Sanders @ 3:56 pm

So, Hurricane Gustav has made it’s way to the Midwest. It pushed it’s way up and started DUMPING water on us yestrday afternoon. We got about a 2 hour break yesterday – right during football practice – and came back with winds and rain. And oh. my. word. with the rain already!

Have I mentioned recently that our basement is *not* waterproofed? Thankfully experience has led us to a place where we try to keep things up off the floor down there. Still makes for a mess though.

And my kids? They are about to drive me insane! After a summer of glorious weather that found them wanting to be outside even more than normal, they are not used to being cooped up in the house. I think we need to invest in a hamster wheel for them. Those kids? Especially the boys. They need a place to run!

Thankfully, with this rain, comes cooler weather. I *should* be able to open the windows tomorrow. Which should induce some supernatural desire within to clean. Notice I said should. Not would. But I’m going to try. And I’m able to pull out some old favorites for dinner. Instead of the garlicky orange chicken that was on my menu, I’ve got my stock pot going and we’ll be having some good old fashioned chicken and dumplings for dinner tonight. My Gram would be proud.

 

Leave a Reply

