My Mundane Musings

Growing up I longed for the fast paced life of big city life and corporate America. Now I’m a stay at home mom of 4 in a small rural community! And I wouldn’t have it any other way! (At least for now).

Slow turtles and hushpuppies… September 5, 2008

Filed under: family,fun,kids,life — Rebekah Sanders @ 8:22 am

My kids have made up a new game. And I’m absolutely giddy about it!

If there is one thing about my kids, it’s that none – as in not one of them – is quiet or walks much. My house is chaotic on it’s good days and the words maelstrom or tornado are used regularly on days when things are less than ideal.

My kids run just about everywhere (unless of course a parental figure actually *asks* them to do something quickly). Elijah is starting to grow out of that running everywhere, so maybe there is hope for the future. Only 8 more years until the youngest is the age the oldest is now!

For some reason, bedtime is especially chaotic. It’s like they know that they are going to be forced to go lay in bed, so they better to their best to use up any energy they have left. Anyone else have a bedtime like that? By that time I just want them to go to bed and let me rest a bit, but instead there is usually some arguing about who gets to sit where, who has brushed their teeth and taken meds, and my all time favorite – who gets to kiss yours truly before bed.

Last night was a typical night. Someone was running into the room and fallen. Someone was jumping on the couch. Chip and I were just trying to get them to please sit down and be quiet so we could have our family prayer time. We’ve been trying not to yell, but last night we came close.

Until Noah yelled out, “1… 2… 3… SLOW TURTLES AND HUSHPUPPIES!!!” Then he immediately plopped his rear on the couch and stopped talking. And the rest of the kids followed suit.

WHAT? I asked him what he said and he called a “time-out” to explain things to me. Seems my brilliant 11 year old came up with a new version of “The Quiet Game.” Whenever someone yells out 1-2-3 slow turtles and hushpuppies, then everyone must slow down their motions and stop talking. Elijah? He’s BRILLIANT!!!

Chip asked who came up with that game and I just grinned.

I told them that I don’t care who came up with it, it’s my new favorite game! Absolutely. LOVE. it!!

And I plan to use it. Oh yes I do! 

Because walking and being quiet just became fun!

 

Leave a Reply

