My Mundane Musings

Growing up I longed for the fast paced life of big city life and corporate America. Now I’m a stay at home mom of 4 in a small rural community! And I wouldn’t have it any other way! (At least for now).

Apples, apples everywhere… September 6, 2008

Filed under: food,friends,fun,life,recipes — Rebekah Sanders @ 9:14 am

And I’m not talking about the computer! (Although, if someone out there were to want to gift me a MacBook I definitely wouldn’t complain).

Chip’s dad brought me about 2 bushels of apples. My kids have eaten about 1/2 a bushel. I’ve made applesauce. And apple bread.

And this apple bread? Y’all, it’s like I got a little taste of heaven when we tried it! Oh. my. word. It’s really *that* good! And I will so completely blame my friend Suzanne for giving me the recipe when I gain 30 pounds because my family is insisting that I make it again. Very, very soon.

So, without further ado, for your gastronomical pleasure, I present…

Suzanne’s Apple Bread

1 1/2 cup flour
1 cup sugar
1 tsp cinnamon
1/2 tsp baking soda
1/4 tsp salt
1/4 tsp baking powder
1/4 tsp nutmeg
1/4 cup oil
1 egg
2 cups chopped apples

Mix all together and spread into a greased 8×4 loaf pan. Bake at 350 for 55 minutes. 
__

I went a step further and put a glaze on it since we were having it for dessert. After it was done baking, I moved it to a cooling rack. I mixed together 1 cup of confectioner’s sugar (that’s just plain powdered sugar for those of you who don’t like to get all fancy) and about 2 tablespoons of water until it was thin and pourable. Then I poured that over the bread and let it all cool.

I’ll be making it again very soon.

 

One Response to “Apples, apples everywhere…”


Leave a Reply

