My Mundane Musings

Growing up I longed for the fast paced life of big city life and corporate America. Now I’m a stay at home mom of 4 in a small rural community! And I wouldn’t have it any other way! (At least for now).

Menu Plan Monday – September 8th… September 8, 2008

Filed under: family,food,healthy living,kids,life,marriage,menu,recipes — Rebekah Sanders @ 7:56 am

Well, Chip threw his back out last week, so we never ate any of the meals that required grilling. That’s right – we’ve been married 12 years and I’ve never once been forced to endure the grilling. Chip enjoys it and I enjoy letting him! rofl Hopefully we’ll get to those meals towards the end of the week.

I’m going to try letting the kids cook with me more often. If nothing else, they can help with side dishes. I’ve heard one story too many lately about people who just don’t know how to cook. There was a time when I was convinced that I couldn’t cook. It just wasn’t a talent that I picked up on as I was growing up. But I’m learning. Chip and the kids even tell me that I’m an excellent cook and request food all the time. I never thought I’d get to that point. Seriously, I couldn’t even boil water successfully at one point. So. not. kidding.

So, I know if I can cook, then my kids can definitely learn to cook. And I figure I might as well teach them when they are still at an age where they *want* to help me. So, for the most part, my menu this week is kid friendly and has stuff they can do to help me…

Monday – Black & Blue Nachos

Tuesday – Homemade gnocchi with marinara sauce and cheese sauce (or both I suppose) and garlic bread

Wednesday – We’ll eat out this day because of football

Thursday – Grilled pork steak

Friday –  Shrimp lettuce wraps and/or springrolls

Saturday – Garlicky Grilled Orange Chicken

Sunday – CORN (Clean Out Refrigator Night)

How do you involve your kids in helping prepare your main meal? Or do you just let them do the dishes?


 

6 Responses to “Menu Plan Monday – September 8th…”

  1. Christi Says:

    My four year old son loves to make deviled-eggs. He makes the whole process!

  2. I love that your including your kids in your cooking. I grew up cooking with my parents (both were good cooks) and I’m sure that helped foster my love of cooking. Thanks for the great links, I’m adding them to my master menu list!

    Have a great week,
    Steph

  3. Nichole Says:

    The grilled chicken sounds wonderful. I hope your Chief Griller is back on his feet this week!

  4. Summer Says:

    My kids love to cook with me. I found a lot of great tips in Cooking Rocks! (Rachael Ray) The only way I can get through it is if I relinquish control. I’m a control freak in the kitchen…and I have to throw that out the window and let them make a mess.

    Anyways…they love to cook when they’re given the opportunity to help plan the menu. I let them look through my cookbooks and they pick out what they want to cook. That excites them about the process. I’ll also take the grocery shopping so they can pick out the items they need to make the meal. I let my 7 year old use knives and stir the pots on the stove, but she can’t touch the controls or put anything into the oven. My 5 year old loves to mix and stir…but I don’t let him get near the stove. I don’t think he’s old enough, yet.

  5. Karen Says:

    The kids and I cook all the time together. I love having them help me and they love cooking with me. They even have their own little aprons to cook with me. Plus it teaches so many things they don’t even realize they are learning, math, reading, doing things in the proper order. They help with the mixing, putting things like cheese on lasagna, tatertots on tatertot bake, etc. I really can’t think of a time when we aren’t cooking together.

  6. Mandy Says:

    Thanks for the recipe links, I can’t wait to try the Shrimp wraps and Black and Blue Nachos, so yummy!


Leave a Reply

