My Mundane Musings

Growing up I longed for the fast paced life of big city life and corporate America. Now I’m a stay at home mom of 4 in a small rural community! And I wouldn’t have it any other way! (At least for now).

Domesticated… September 9, 2008

Filed under: life — Rebekah Sanders @ 3:12 pm

Chip told me the other night, “I love it when you’re being all domestic and stuff.”  I’m fairly sure what he meant was “Thank you for cleaning my underwear and making apple bread.”

Housework does not come easily for me. I can think of 1001 different things I’d rather do than fold socks and organize closets. But I try. Honest. I can remember dreaming when I was younger. I was going to move to a city, marry well, send my laundry out, order in and have the maid in once a week to do all the yucky chores that I detest. At least I got one of those right. (For those who might not know – I live in a “town” so small it’s called a village, we don’t have anywhere you can order in here even if you want to and unless you count my kids actually picking up after themselves once a year, there is not cleaning service of any kind. But oh – that man of mine and the way he makes my heart skip just by walking into a room…)

Today, I decided to tackle the laundry *and* the kitchen. I love to cook, but I hate to cook in a dirty kitchen. So, I got up early and cleaned the counters as I was waiting for my coffee to brew. Moved the toaster and knife block and swept out all the stray crumbies. I moved the coffee maker and coffee grinder and made sure there were no coffee grounds to be found anywhere. And I sprayed it all down with my favorite organic cleaner and got it all clean.

And with a nice clean kitchen, I decided that maybe some apple cake would be wonderful. I called my dutiful helpers – do y’all have any idea how hard it is to make apple cake with SIX helpers under the age of 12? Where’s the calorie counter for things like jumping over kids and hurrying to catch a 2 year old before she falls off the chair you’ve told her to please sit down on 100 times? – to wash apples and keep everything cleaned up.

We got the cake in the oven and the kids started on schoolwork. And then I started on the laundry.

I’m ashamed to admit it, but maybe if I let y’all in on this dark secret of mine it won’t happen again? At least not until next week anyway.

I had no less than SEVEN loads of laundry to fold today. That doesn’t count the load currently in the washer, one in the dryer and since my kids cleaned their rooms I know there are TONS of clothes that are upstairs (I’m afraid to look) that still need to be washed.

(On a complete side note – WHO is going to believe that pizza hut pasta is as good as a gourmet restaurant? I’ve had it. It’s ok. But if you think *that* is good pasta, call and make a reservation with me and I’ll make you a GREAT Italian meal.)

Speaking of being domestic and great Italian meals (see how I did that? And I didn’t even mean to!), I’m making homemade gnocchi for dinner tonight. WIth a gorgonzola cheese sauce. If you don’t hear from me tomorrow, send help. Surely I’ve overloaded on carbs and can’t make my way to the computer!

So, it’s been a very busy day around here today. But I’ve tackled-it-Tuesday with the best of them.

What’s on your to-do list today?

Tackle It Tuesday Meme

 

2 Responses to “Domesticated…”

  1. I’m with you….I do 30 loads of laundry a week, and now I’ve started hanging them to dry. (They get a 5 minute fluff in the dryer). Another step to the process! Some of those “domestic chores” aren’t so glamours. If I could just have someone clean the bathrooms I’d be happy….

  2. Irene Says:

    hey Rebekah,

    Wow,

    Talking about towns so small – I live in the smallest township in our county (260 people). Before here we lived in the smallest borough in the STATE (220 people). I came from a town of 10,000 people before I met my hubby.

    I HATE doing chores. I hate having a messy/dirty house, but I am not a good housekeeper at all. I wish I was and am trying my hardest to keep it somewhat tidy so I am not embarrassed if a church member or someone stops by unannounced!!! It’s really hard with two small children who love to pull everything out of drawers, take the cushions off the sofa, etc…..I am not complaining.

    Wish I could cook better. Since moving to our new church in June, I have been cooking more of the meals since hubby has office hours until 5 three nights week at the church. I am doing alright, but he is somewhat of a picky eater. Looking for things that are easy to made too!!


Leave a Reply

