My Mundane Musings

Growing up I longed for the fast paced life of big city life and corporate America. Now I’m a stay at home mom of 4 in a small rural community! And I wouldn’t have it any other way! (At least for now).

Goop on my hands… September 10, 2008

Filed under: family,food,healthy living,life,Nifty Stuff,works-for-me-wednesday — Rebekah Sanders @ 11:22 am

I love to cook. Really. Hate my kitchen, but still love to cook. Especially after discovering vinyl gloves!

We went to a friends house for dinner one night and as we walked in, she was chopping garlic and had gloves on her hand. Not big gloves like dishwashing/cleaning gloves (do those things make anyone else’s hands sweat like they do mine?), but latex/vinyl gloves like doctors wear.

My mind screamed BRILLIANT! And starting racing with the possibilities.

So, I went out and bought a box. They were buy the first aid supplies at my Target. And now I find myself using them almost daily.

I use them any time I have to do anything with dough. I don’t even have to take my rings off anymore. I use them any time I have to handle raw meat with my hands. I use them any time I might otherwise find myself washing my hands over and over and over again while I prepare a meal.

And you know how it is – as soon as you get your hands dirty, one of the kids needs you. The phone rings. There is a knock at the door. When you’re wearing gloves, you simply pull them off and go! GENIUS!!!

What’s your favorite kitchen tip?

 

4 Responses to “Goop on my hands…”

  1. Suzanne Says:

    You are too much!

  2. sharon in alabama :) Says:

    OH, those gloves are just awesome in the kitchen. I bought a box at Sam’s Club about a year ago…am still using them. I appreciate them more when I have to touch raw meat–chicken, beef, etc. Keeps my hands from feeling too ‘germy’!

    I also use them around the house when I am doing other duties too. They are well worth it….and yep, just rip them things off when the children need ya or the phone rings….your hands appreciate it!!!!

    sharon 🙂

  3. Kristin Says:

    My kitchen tip is this – fill the sink and wash as you go.

    We have those gloves in the house right now, I have never thought to use them in the kitchen – Great idea!

    Have a great day,
    Kristin

  4. Tammy Says:

    I agree, gloves are great.

    My other tip? When something smelly gets on your hands (like garlic or onion), rub them on the bottom of a stainless steel bowl–no more smell!

    Also? My stand mixer is GREAT for mixing up meatloaf–can’t stand my hands getting uber frozen when mixing meat with my hands.


Leave a Reply

