My Mundane Musings

Growing up I longed for the fast paced life of big city life and corporate America. Now I’m a stay at home mom of 4 in a small rural community! And I wouldn’t have it any other way! (At least for now).

You’ve heard of homecoming king and queen… September 25, 2008

Filed under: family,kids,life — Rebekah Sanders @ 3:48 pm

But around here all we have are the Drama King and Queen – otherwise known as Noah and Kaitlyn. Because oh. my. word. y’all. With the drama around here today, surely those children of mine deserve an Oscar or an Emmy or maybe even a Grammy with some of the pitches they’ve been hitting today.

And the monstrosity that caused all the drama? I asked them to *gasp* clean their rooms!

And then I asked them to go back and make them “mom-clean.” Which is different from “dad-clean.” Dad-clean simply means that they clean up the middle of the room so we can walk in it. And there is nothing wrong with that. But when we tell them that it needs to be mom-clean, I mean that I want them to clean under their beds, behind open doors and the floors of their closets. It means I want them to actually be able to just get in their beds and lay down and not have to clean them off first.

But that also means that they must torture me. And I’d ground them, but then they still win. They get to play in their rooms with their stuff and whine at me even more. Which will just lead to them having to clean their rooms again. And I have a low tolerance for punishing myself.

So, we’re in the final 15 minutes of room cleaning. They are clean enough to be halfway between dad-clean and mom-clean. And all I’m asking for is 15 more minutes. Then I’m going to kick them all out of the house, take some excederin and remind myself that they are going to bed EARLY with a movie tonight so we can watch the season premier of The Office!

And that makes it all worth it!

 

2 Responses to “You’ve heard of homecoming king and queen…”

  1. Suzanne Says:

    Soon those days will be behind you! I promise! There comes a day when they want to keep their rooms clean. It’s a wonderful thing.

    For me….it’s time to get on the dreadmill. LOVE that. How come I never thought of it on my own?

  2. ali Says:

    Yay The Office is back! I missed it last night but I’ll be watching it this weekend on the computer.


Leave a Reply

