My Mundane Musings

Growing up I longed for the fast paced life of big city life and corporate America. Now I’m a stay at home mom of 4 in a small rural community! And I wouldn’t have it any other way! (At least for now).

***EEK*** April 2, 2008

Filed under: family,kids,life,photos — Rebekah Sanders @ 11:32 am

There is nothing that makes my heart jump more than one of my kids yelling, at the top of their lungs,

“THE CAT HAS A MOUSE!!!”

The fear that grips my heart and I jump up onto the nearest chair is hard to put into words. And when that cat brought the mouse around the corner where I could actually *see* the mouse, my heart was actually in a panic.

So, I did what any girl would do. I called my husband! WHO DIDN’T ANSWER THE PHONE!!!  I dialed his cell phone, the church phone, the cell phone, the church phone and by the time I’d called the 7th time, I was frantic! “You can’t come home if you don’t answer your phone!!!” He tried to offer me an explanation about not bringing a phone into the bathroom, but OH MY GOSH! WE HAVE A MOUSE!!!  I was a bit short with him on the phone and told him to get home – NOW – because we have a mouse! And I don’t. do. mice.

My boys on the other hand, quickly put on their shoes and scurried to help the cat apprehend. Why shoes? Because they know that if a mouse runs in front of you, you STOMP on it. A trick their dad taught them. The dog got in on the action and the mouse was hiding in the pile of bunkbed pieces that we had laid in the dining room. Elijah started pulling boards out (Chip still wasn’t home – how long does it take to walk from next door? I’m still freaking out at this point) and carrying them out to the garage.

By this point, Kait has come out to find out what the fuss is about and as soon as she hears the word mouse, she leaps up onto the dining room table in her best Tom & Jerry impression! I’d join her, but I’m not getting down off my chair!

Elijah moves the right board and drops it just as quickly as the mouse makes a break for it. The dog and cat quickly chase it back into the pile and Chip finally walks in the door to help.

 

Chip and Elijah move some more and cat gets the mouse! Carries it off somewhere out of sight with my boys hot on the trail. I’m not sure what exactly happens at this point, but I do know that the mouse is dead and no longer in my house!

I’m considering making some medals for my boys later today! Or maybe I’ll just make them some chocolate chip cookies…

 

2 Responses to “***EEK***”

  1. Suzanne Says:

    I like the colors on your walls!

  2. SufficientGrace Says:

    Awww…. I actually rescued a mouse from a cat once… heeheehee… guess you and I wouldn’t get along in that aspect. ROTFL…


Leave a comment